“Work”

In 2010, one of my best friends came to visit LA from Minnesota – and he brought along his Canon 30D.   During his visit, he randomly asked me to drive him around Downtown so he could get a few night shots of the city to show his people back home.   I had nothing better to do, so I agreed.  I can’t remember if either he got tired of holding his gear or if I was getting bored, but he gave me a go with the camera -which I had NO idea how to use.   I do remember how relaxing it was to walk around the streets of DT and take pictures of the architecture, of the cars passing on the 110 fwy, the night sky, etc.   After about 30 minutes with that 30D, I was hooked on photography.

Cut to 2012, two years after  Josh C. let me have a stab with his camera…I have to say, I love where I’m at and where I’m going.   I get to assist in FASHION shoots, I’m getting paid to take product shots for a web catalog (Thanks for the recommendation Kat!!!), I’ve met some fantastic people, and I get to create!

Never in my wildest dreams did I ever imagine I would be pursuing Photography, much less did I ever imagine I would someday get PAID to take pictures.  (I got paid, as a Photographer, for the very first time today)   I’m STILL hooked!

A special THANK YOU to:  Josh Castaneda, Libby Letlow (for connecting me with Kat), Kathryna Hancock (for letting me assist and for believing in my ability to learn), and Juanita M. (My Photo-godmother)

THIS is what I call “work” (All of these are Behind-the-Scene shots from Kat’s shoots)

Leave a comment